A windmill of encouragement

July 4, 2007

beach-windmill_july-2007.jpg

 I wonder if Jesus was here on earth, and as he looked around and remarked on how unhappy and troubled many of us are, I wonder what would he do to bring encouragement, to put a smile on our faces, to help lift our gaze from the ground to heaven?  I just wonder amidst the grey-ness and monotony that sometimes pervades our everyday lives, would he buy us a brightly coloured windmill, stick it in our gardens and let the wind have its way…and in so doing, give us a fresh perspective on life, give us encouragement and strength for the day ahead, and give us a smile on our faces that says to a grey world that with Jesus, we have hope.

I’m just wondering who are the people in our lives who need a bit of encouragement right now, who are struggling with personal stuff, who are unhappy with the way their lives are going, who are silently screaming and crying out for someone to listen to them…and I’m just wondering what are we going to do about it?  What small act of kindness that speaks volumes of Christ’s love can we do to help someone?  Who needs a windmill of encouragement right now?

“Come to me, all of you who are tired and have heavy loads, and I will give you rest.  Accept my teachings and learn from me, because I am gentle and humble in spirit, and you will find rest for your lives.  The teaching that I ask you to accept is easy; the load I give you to carry is light.”  Matthew chapter 11, verses 28-30

Leave a Reply

